Jaycee Baker

12003165_10207687446653907_3702617142988558900_n

 

MY STORIES:

MY BLOG:

I chose the topic of my enterprise story because I knew it would be a challenge for me to keep my opinion out of the story. The topic I chose was police brutality and how the media has affected the police force. My dad has been a police officer for about 20 years, I have few close friends that became officers, and I have also had the opportunity to work with members of the Utah Highway Patrol for two years. Having such a close connection with many officers made this piece close to me. In order to help myself keep an even base, I had to leave out my father as a source. There was too much opinion in the pieces that I had gathered from him, and I couldn’t fully remove my own opinion from it, so I just took it out.

I think what surprised me the most was the way that the other side thinks. Both sides feel so strong about the topic; it was interesting to see how a side could think they were so right, while the other side was so incorrect. Keeping this piece balanced and my opinion out of the piece proved to be more difficult than I had originally thought. I had to continue to rewrite and reword parts of my paper that my voice started to show through at. It was a long process, but I think the end result showed I can write about topics close to me with a little more effort.

ABOUT ME:  

This is my first semester at the University of Utah. I am currently a junior and transferred from Salt Lake Community College. I plan to double major in communication and political science and continue on to law school once I am done with that. I am a full time student, and I also work part-time while keeping school my top priority right now. Being a full-time college student takes priority in my life, but occasionally I have some spare time. For fun, I like to snowboard, ride horses, hike and go shooting. I have been in the United State Air Force for three years now, and I’ve enjoyed the amazing experiences the Air Force has given me the opportunity to learn from.