Phi Tran

MY STORIES:

 

MY BLOG:phi-tran

Writer’s Blog: April 2, 2008

I’m not one to judge people by their appearance. I’d like to think that there’s still some good in society. Yet there are many people out there who do. I understand that what we know in this world is based on our experiences, but why be prejudiced against a person you don’t even know? It’s an ongoing question. But as a journalist, what can I do about it?

I truly believe that knowledge is power and I think if people are educated then they will become more understanding. I want to help people understand that the diversity in people is what makes our country unique. I think that everyone in this world has a story and I want to be the one who has the privilege of sharing it.

This class has been great because it has prepared me for the real world. The deadlines have been the death of me, but I realized a long time ago that I do some of my best work when I’m under pressure. There were challenges that I had to overcome. For example, I had to go out of my comfort zone when I wrote my enterprise story. I grew up in West Valley City and I’ve always noticed, in my generation and in this city, a racial tension between Asians and Hispanics. I don’t know why and I don’t know if it’s true, but I, along with a few people I know, have experienced it (i.e. incidents involving physical violence or an exchange of racial slurs that would turn into physical violence). It was difficult for me to go into the Hispanic market area to interview people because of my past experiences, but I did it. I knew that this story would be a great example of how these two communities can get along and I did not want to miss the opportunity to share this with others. I’m glad I did it.

          

ABOUT ME:

My name is Phi (pronounced fee) Tran and I love to write. It’s what I do and it’s what I’m good at. I have a passion to write about issues that are important to me. I am going to be 23 years old this July and will be graduating from the University of Utah in December 2008. My degree is going to be in mass communication with an emphasis in news editorial; however, I’m very interested in broadcast as well. People have told me that I should go with whichever one I like more, but that’s the problem. I like them both equally and I’ve asked myself, why not do both? If I decide to do one or the other or both, I think that my degree will pertain to both electronic and print journalism.

I decided to go into journalism when I was in high school and there were two reasons behind that. One was because of the experience I gained from working on a summer literary magazine for Upward Bound, an educational program at the U for high school students. I liked being able to share what was important to me with the public. The second reason was because one of my sisters told me that I was good at writing and I really value her opinion.

I hope that my articles give you a better insight into who I am as an individual, but also what I am capable of doing as a writer.