Michael Olson

Michael Olson, making journalism look good.

Michael Olson, making journalism look good.

MY STORIES:

 

MY BLOG:

I have interviewed many people since becoming a student of journalism. So believe me when I tell you that those who provide care for refugees in the Salt Lake Valley are among the most selfless people I’ve come in contact with.

The more I get to know these caregivers the more I realize what a big responsibility they have. Some refugees come here with virtually nothing. 

The men and women who work to help them adjust to life here are tireless. They work way too much for the meager salaries they are receiving. But ask them if they care. They aren’t in this for the money. If they were there are plenty of other, more lucrative professions they could switch to. 

Valentine Mukundente, a caseworker for the International Rescue Committee, told me that “this is not a job you do for money. You do it because you love it.”

To tell you the truth, I was not excited about spending an entire semester covering this subject. “How many stories could there possibly be about refugees?” I asked myself. 

But I was surprised after the first two stories were down. More ideas were coming to me. When I started those next two stories I had more information than I could fit in. At one point my 1200-word story had 1900 words. 

I was most excited to learn about the LDS church’s Humanitarian Center and the work experience they offer newly arrived refugees just getting started in America. 

This valley is filled with amazing people. They give until it hurts.

 

ABOUT ME:

Michael Olson, 22, is studying journalism at the University of Utah. After studying art for two semesters he decided that he enjoyed painting a picture with words more than brush strokes.

He is currently a news writer for the Daily Utah Chronicle at the University of Utah. Michael enjoys journalism because it gives him the chance to be an explorer and seek out interesting people and their stories.

After graduating from Bountiful High School, Michael served a full-time LDS mission in Tokyo, Japan, where he learned the language. And the food isn’t bad either.