Kathryn Jones

MY STORIES:

On vacation in Hawaii 2007.

On vacation in Hawaii 2007.

 

MY BLOG: Epiphany of a gray-haired college student

I’m old.

OK, I’m 47 years old, and attending college for the first time. And while some in this universe might say, “Hey lady, you’ve missed the boat, take a load off,” I tend to favor those around me who think attending school, gray hair and all, is a pretty great thing.

When I complain about not being able to retain information, they say, “But look how much wiser you are!”

When I wish for more time with my grandchildren they say, “Look. You need to spend time with them, so balance it. Are you trying for that ridiculous “A” again?”

They would be right, of course. That “A” keeps the scholarships coming; keeps school free, at least in the finance department.

So, what’s wrong with a “B”?

Nothing. Everything. OK, when I was in high school I didn’t get good grades. I felt stupid and thought that college was for smart, nerdy folks who didn’t have a life. I wanted a life so I didn’t go.

Now I’m richer than some and poorer than most. A college education in my younger days would have been a great thing.

Of course, I try not to think about that. I try to remember the positive nudges from family and friends who know how tough this is for me; who know I will get a job after all of this that will actually pay me closer to what I’m worth. Yes, that would be beyond minimum wage.

I tell them I see the light at the end of the tunnel.

They smile. After all the late nights, saying “no” to various engagements and pretty much not having a heck of a lot of room in my head to think about much else but homework, tests and lack of sleep, they probably see the light too.

 

ABOUT ME:

I am a published writer of fiction and nonfiction and currently work freelance for The Salt Lake Tribune, Salt Lake Magazine and Gardner Village. I enjoy feature writing and creative writing. To learn more about me, visit my Web site